Skip to content
April 18, 2012 / Greater New Britain Chamber of Commerce

Wisdom Awards Celebrate Seniors Who Continue to Inspire!

Wisdom Awards Celebrate Seniors Who Continue to Inspire

Southington, Conn.  ­– The first Wisdom Awards ceremony will be held Sunday, April 22 to celebrate a group of Connecticut residents at least 70 years old who model the essence of healthy aging through their actions, volunteerism, service, creativity and caregiving.

The special reception will begin at 11:30 a.m. at the Aqua Turf Club, Mulberry Street, in Plantsville. Earlier this year, Central Connecticut Senior Health Services invited the public to submit nominees for the Wisdom Awards to honor those people who serve their community and others, often behind the scenes and without expecting recognition. These men and women have made their mark in one or more categories including volunteer service, their career, the military, education, the fine arts, as caregivers and as role models for leading healthy, productive lives into their senior years.

More than 40 nominations were received showcasing dedicated, loving people who have been inspirational to others. From this group, 15 Wisdom Awards recipients were selected.

They are: Joseph Angelillo, Lois Blomstrann, Genevieve Haddad, Antoinette Height, Walter Hushak, Ralph Mann, Hugh Penney, Arnold Schwartz, Nellie Shepard, Margarete Stanchick, Martha Trask and Elsie Pelton Woolam. Also being honored are Minnie Giannattasio with the Extraordinary Elder Award, and Eliot and Marsha Cohen with the Couples Award.

The award recipients and nominees will be at the awards luncheon where they will be honored.

 Signature sponsor of the Wisdom Awards is American Savings Foundation; additional sponsors are Anthem BlueCross BlueShield, MBH Architecture, Omnicare, Calvanese Foundation, Alzheimer’s Association, It’s Never 2 Late, Kiwanis Club of Southington, Life Bio, Main Street Community Foundation, New England Home Care  and Ovation Benefits.

Call (860) 378-1284 or visit

Wisdom Award recipients

Joseph Angelillo, of Southington

Lois Blomstrann, of Cromwell

Genevieve Haddad, of Southington

Antoinette Height, of Southington

Walter Hushak, of Milldale

Ralph Mann, of Southington

Hugh Penney, of Cromwell

Arnold Schwartz, of New Britain

Nellie Shepard, of Plantsville

Margarete Stanchick, of Berlin

Martha Trask, of Plainville

Elsie Pelton Woolam, of Southington

Minnie Giannattasio, of Torrington, the Extraordinary Elder Award

Eliot and Marsha Cohen,of Torrington, the Couples Award

%d bloggers like this: